The JVN is looking for a new intern! (Could it be you?)

The JVN is looking for a new intern! But before you apply, you want to know details, wouldn’t you? Naturally, we thought we ask our current intern, Myriam, to provide you with a brief rundown of her JVN experience…

I started my Marketing Internship at JVN in early December, after graduating from London Metropolitan University, and I was immediately thrown into the deep end of the volunteering world!

My first task was to find volunteering opportunities for people wanting to keep busy helping others during the Festive period.  In just a few days, I contacted over 50 organisations within the JVN network and found five winter volunteering opportunities.  I then arranged with our web company to post a special feature on our website and promoted it on our Facebook and blog, and arranged for an advert to appear in the Jewish press and then talked to journalists to promote it.  It was really a whirlwind introduction into the type of work that JVN does!

I’d say there two main aspects to the role: working to find volunteering opportunities (for example, I helped find 20 opportunities for the hundreds of Yoni Jesner Award Scheme kids at five Jewish secondary schools) and working on marketing activities like the JVN Pesach newsletter (arriving soon!), leaflets, news releases and social media.  I’ve also helped out at different events like Trustee meetings and our Volunteer Coordinator Forum and met so many different people in just a few months.

Here I am (far left) at the JVN organised Intern Training Day for interns working for community organisations.

The work really keeps me on my toes.  I really enjoy the responsibility and creativity that’s involved.  One of the best things has been being in charge of finding information to post on our blog and Facebook pages – I’ve had to keep an eye on what is going on in the world of volunteering and the wider Jewish community by frequently visiting lots of newspaper websites and volunteering organisation newsfeeds.  I’ve also interviewed volunteer coordinators from charities in our network to promote their organisation and their volunteering opportunities, which has been a great experience. I’ve learnt a lot about Communications in a really short space of time.

If I was asked what the qualities were you need to be a JVN intern? I’d say, you have to be able to manage a couple of projects at the same time, as you will be asked to do some tasks by all six members of the JVN team (sometimes simultaneously!) so organisational skills are needed and also knowing how to prioritise your work.  You’ll need great writing skills and be prepared to develop them further, in order to write press releases and articles for our blog.  Also, because I spend a lot of time talking to organisations, I would say it really helps to be friendly and good speaking on the phone and in person.

I really enjoy my work at JVN.  The office at the JHub in West Hampstead (great shops, great area) is shared with lots of other Jewish charities and so the atmosphere is really good – we often have Pizza Tuesday and other social events, so it’s a good balance of work and fun.

I would say that anyone who’s willing to throw themself into work, loves writing and words and who is prepared to try anything, will be great for the position. Click here to apply!If you have more questions, do not hesitate to contact myriam@jvn.org.uk, or my manager, Joanne (joanne@jvn.org.uk).

There you have it! So what are you waiting for, apply for a remarkable intern experience. We can’t wait to hear from you.

Categories: JVN News

Author:Mike

Hi, I'm Mike, JVN's Youth Co-ordinator and blogger. I'll be blogging about all sorts of issues affecting the volunteering community, with a particular focus on how recent developments might affect the UK Jewish community's volunteers. I'm always interested to read the comments you make. If you have something you want to see in the JVN blog, e-mail me at mike@jvn.org.uk and I'll be happy to talk. And if you're inspired by any of my blogs to volunteer, log on to www.jvn.org.uk and register to find your perfect volunteering opportunity.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Leonie’s View – Never mind mine, what about yours? JVN’s Blog Content Appeal 2011! | The Jewish Volunteering Network Blog - July 1, 2011

    […] topic relating to volunteering, and/or Jewish charity organisations and community you would like my special agents at JVN to investigate or have me comment on, please do reply in the comments and we’ll get on the […]

  2. Kicking off the Yoni Jesner Awards 2012 | The Jewish Volunteering Network Blog - March 1, 2013

    […] many of you will know, JVN has had some wonderful interns.  Our newest is Mike, who started a few weeks ago. And in typical JVN fashion we’ve got […]

Leave a Reply

