JVN Fun(d) Runner: Tristan Nagler!

As you might have already seen either in our newsletter or on the website, JVN is supporting the Maccabi Community Fun Run this year Sunday 29th May – helping to find volunteers to make the event run smoothly (no pun intended!).  The Maccabi Community Fun Run, much like JVN itself brings together multiple charities to enable them to work together for a great overall cause – a good match indeed! The JVN team will be there at the charity fair, so do spot our bright orange banners and come over and say hello!

In addition to helping find volunteers (and did we mention that you can find out more here), JVN is delighted to say that we have our very own – and very first! – runner raising much-appreciated funds for JVN.  But rather than us tell you about him, we thought we’d let him tell you himself.

Read on to find out more about our JVN superstar runner Tristan Nagler!

So Tristan, why are you doing the Maccabi Community Fun Run?  Which distance are you doing?

Following my decision to change jobs in the Autumn and with the arrival of a baby in December, I was keen to stretch myself with a new goal! I felt that 10k was a challenging, yet achievable distance to run in the Community Fun Run!

Tell us a little something about you.

I’m a 30-something banker at Investec, living in NW London with my wife and three young children.

Why have you chosen to fundraise for JVN in particular?

Raising money for JVN enables me to help dozens of worthy charities at once!

What preparations have you had to do? Have you ever done anything like this before?

I’ve been road running for some 18 months and have been picking up the pace of late.  To help me I’ve taken on the services of a personal trainer who’s introduced me to circuit training at the gym I’m a member of in the cty.  That was quite a shock to the system at first!

How are you feeling in the run up to the Community Fun Run?

Enthusiastic and “up for it” – plotting a half marathon next year!

What are the best bits about training? What are the worst bits?

I use training as a way of getting a bit of work/life balance from my busy day job. There’s a real sense of satisfaction from completing an intensive run or training session. Having burnt off some calories on the road or cross-trainer, I can then go home and eat to my heart’s content at weekends!

Have you got a time you’re going for? Can people sponsor you to hit a certain time?

I’m targeting about an hour (6 mins/km) but as an asthma sufferer, I’m more focused on completing the run than going for a particular time: going round in one piece is my first priority!

What kind of support can people give you?

Money’s basically good and I have set up a site for the purposes. JVN is a great cause, so please give generously and I’ll run my socks off!

You can donate to Tristan’s amazing running efforts for JVN here: http://www.justgiving.com/TristanN

To become a Maccabi Community Fun Run Volunteer click here.

Categories: JVN News

Author:Mike

Hi, I'm Mike, JVN's Youth Co-ordinator and blogger. I'll be blogging about all sorts of issues affecting the volunteering community, with a particular focus on how recent developments might affect the UK Jewish community's volunteers. I'm always interested to read the comments you make. If you have something you want to see in the JVN blog, e-mail me at mike@jvn.org.uk and I'll be happy to talk. And if you're inspired by any of my blogs to volunteer, log on to www.jvn.org.uk and register to find your perfect volunteering opportunity.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Maccabi Community Fun Run Indeed! | The Jewish Volunteering Network Blog - June 13, 2011

    […] Maccabi Community Fun Run Indeed! Posted on June 13, 2011 by Leonie Last month, JVN told you about how we were lucky to have our very own – and first ever – runner participating at the Maccabi GB Community Fun Run which took place on Sunday 29th May (read the full interview here). […]

Leave a Reply

